Ultraviolet (Hardcover)

Ultraviolet By Aida Salazar Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now - Subject to Availability.
2 on hand, as of Jul 19 12:06am
(FICTION HARDCOVER)

Description


Sometimes life explodes in technicolor.

In the spirit of Judy Blume, award-winning author Aida Salazar tells it like it is about puberty, hormones, and first love in this hilarious, heartwarming, and highly relatable coming-of-age story. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Kwame Alexander, and Adib Khorram.

"Savagely funny and deeply human." —New York Times Review

* "Stunning...A story that sings to the soul." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

For Elio Solis, eighth grade fizzes with change—His body teeming with hormones. His feelings that flow like lava. His relationship with Pops, who’s always telling him to man up, the Solis way. And especially Camelia, his first girlfriend.

But then, betrayal and heartbreak send Elio spiraling toward revenge, a fight to prove his manhood, and defend Camelia’s honor. He doesn’t anticipate the dire consequences—or that Camelia’s not looking for a savior.

Ultraviolet digs deep into themes of consent, puberty, masculinity, and the emotional lives of boys, as it challenges stereotypes and offers another way to be in the world.

About the Author


Aida Salazar is an award-winning author and arts activist whose writings for adults and children explore issues of identity and social justice. She is the author of the middle-grade verse novels The Moon Within (International Latino Book Award Winner), Land of the Cranes (Americas Award Winner), the picture book anthology, In the Spirit of a Dream, and the picture book biography Jovita Wore Pants: The Story of a Mexican Freedom Fighter. She is a founding member of Las Musas, a Latinx kidlit debut author collective. Her short story "By the Light of the Moon" was adapted into a ballet production by the Sonoma Conservatory of Dance and is the first Xicana-themed ballet in history. She lives with her family of artists in Oakland, California.

Praise For…


Praise for Ultraviolet:

“Savagely funny and deeply human. . . .Each poem bursts with energy...Weaves sharp, witty social commentary into the narrative without being didactic. . . . Salazar, whose son helped inspire the novel, depicts Elio’s emotional trajectory with grace and empathy. ‘Ultraviolet’ beautifully captures the essence of what it means to be a boy trying to make himself into a good man.” —New York Times Review

* “Salazar writes from a place of abundant empathy. . . . Her frank but thoughtful approach to puberty and sexuality . . . provides valuable life lessons to young readers without tilting into preachiness. . . . Could inspire in-depth conversations on the broad spectrum of coming-of-age narratives and experiences. Yet another heartfelt and accessible tale of growing up from one of the best in modern children’s literature.” —School Library Journal, starred review

* “Written in Salazar’s stunning and highly accessible verse . . . this novel stands out for the thoughtful way it expresses a young boy’s perspective as it discusses topics such as masculinity and consent. . . . A story that sings to the soul.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* “In a succinct, conversational style, Salazar (A Seed in the Sun) humorously and introspectively depicts the effects of puberty on Elio’s everyday life as he grapples with confusing messaging he receives about how to be a man. Issues around consent and patriarchal systems are handled with insight and sensitivity, culminating in a compassionate verse novel about first love, heartbreak, and vulnerability.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

* “Salazar’s verse is captivating. . .Commenting on topics that range from patriarchy to colonialism, the internet to peer pressure, and first loves to heartbreaks, Salazar delivers a fully intersectional look at what it means to try to embody masculinity without toxicity. She filled a gap she saw in middle grade literature, and countless readers will see themselves in the pages, regardless of race or gender, but especially Latino boys.” —Book Page, starred review

"Ultraviolet is a lyrical explosion, true and beautiful, of the pains and joys of growing into a good man." — Francisco X. Stork, award-winning author of I Am Not Alone and Marcelo in the Real World

"Honest and poignant. Aida Salazar hits the mark with this important and intensely relatable tale that perfectly captures the angst of growing up. A true gift to maturing tweens everywhere." — Ernesto Cisneros, award-winning author of Efren Divided



Product Details
ISBN: 9781338775655
ISBN-10: 1338775650
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2024
Pages: 304
Language: English